RIP to a Phenomenal Woman – Maya Angelou

maya-angelou-quotes-on-writing

Today, I am deeply saddened by the loss of Maya Angelou.  Aside from the amazing strides she made in and for society, black women primarily, but all women and the literary contributions, she made a huge impact on my life.  Mother Maya, as I’d always fondly referred to her as, touched my life greatly.  I possess many of her works, which served to inspire, encourage and uplift me into the woman I am today.  She rose above her so-called lacks, overcame much adversity, was a victor,  and a woman of high regard when many thought less of her.  She refused to settle for less and was inspired and encouraged to succeed against the odds…She did!

love-quotes-by-maya-angelou-185

Mother Maya was world renowned, which for a black woman is an amazing feat to accomplish.  Mother Maya taught us to be phenomenal, to be great, to be all that we could be and still strive for me.  Her presence, her voice, her will was awe worthy and commanding, yet dispensed with grace and dignity.

Quote_MayaAngelou_Phenomenal

I tend not to jump on the band wagon of those of celebrity who’ve passed, but in this instance, I’d be remiss if I didn’t.  Again, Mother Maya was and will continue to be a woman I honoured and felt greatly touched and influenced my life.  I’ve used her as a source of reference when mentoring young woman.  I’ve gifted her books to young woman so they, too, could be encouraged, inspired, and know their worth.

images (1)

The black community, the literary world, and many lives were blessed by her activism; her poise; her teachings and her passing is a great loss to them all. It is my hope that those who were touched, influenced, and affected by Mother Maya will continue her legacy in some form so that all she gave us will not be for naught.

STILL I RISE - MAYA ANGELOU

RIP Mother Maya, you’ll be greatly and sorely missed.

 

 

Yea, I said it!

Leave a Reply

