Blog Challenge: Day 26 — Have you ever thought about giving up on life? If so, when and why?

suicide

This is an incredibly painful one as I’ve lost someone very close to me to suicide.  I knew of his pain, the alcoholism, the depression, and over the years tried to intervene in an effort to prevent it; sadly nothing worked and four years ago, he took his life.  He left behind a daughter; his only child.  His family.  His friends. And to date, no one has comes to terms with it.  There was no note; therefore, no explanation; only speculation.

Even though I self-injured, which is a NON-suicidal coping mechanism,  for almost three decades, I can’t actually say I’ve ever really wanted to give up on life.  I know I had a lot of issues that contributed to my pain and reasons to self-injure; suicide has never been an option.  Life, even with its pain, chaos, and turbulent nature still has many good aspects to it and is worth living.

Given my proximity to suicide, I find myself angered by a society that constantly thrusts things, people, and images in our faces and lives that contribute to people feeling inadequate, alienated, chastised, and marginalized, which are triggers for suicide or attempts at suicide.  It’s not solely because one is weak why they take their lives and more needs to be done in forms or acceptance and tolerance to prevent suicides from occurring.  We need to be more interactive, more kind, more willing to help others in order for those feeling like they have no way out; to have a person and/or resource to help them cope.

The second week of September is National Suicide Week, but it should be everyday.  We each can take a stand to be more proactive, more loving, more kind, and certainly more aware of change in another’s behaviour, mindset, or emotions.  There are many resources available for those in need of counseling and the following Google link shows some of them Suicide Prevention Information

love yourself untitled

 

Seeking help makes you stronger than your weakness and I pray that someone in need will reach out and get the help they need.

 

Yea, I said it!

5 thoughts on “Blog Challenge: Day 26 — Have you ever thought about giving up on life? If so, when and why?

  1. Excellent post, Blu.

    I don’t know anyone who committed suicide, but I can imagine the heartache that brings someone’s loved ones. That must’ve really sucked for your friend’s daughter.

    Like yourself, suicide had never and will never be an option for me no matter the situation. I cannot see myself taking my own life like that. I’d rather die trying than to completely give up on myself in life. I am the kind of guy who keeps hope tucked inside of my heart. It’s that hope that makes me believe that tomorrow will be a better today.

    So far, so good.

  2. Life is far too beautiful to contemplate ending.

    First time I witnessed someone committ suicide, it happened so fast I was stumped for months.

    Stress is a killer, but so is loneliness when one feels they have no one to turn to.

    • Damn! Hugs! I can only imagine the weight of what that experience imposed on you.

      Yes, Stress and loneliness are killers too; or at least contributors. I think it’s important to find ways to touch a life whenever possible. A smile. A call/text/email. A hug. A kind word. All of which can make a huge impact in anothers life

Leave a Reply

