Blog Challenge: Day 23 — Something you wish you had done in your life

Maintained my ability to speak French

parle francais

When I was still in the UK, I grew up learning and speaking French.  I was always an A-student and spent time in France to improve my speaking abilities.  French has and will always be my favourite foreign language.

Truth be told, I can actually still speak French, but it’s not nearly as good as it used to be. I can still read and understand a good majority of things written in French; however, my conversational French isn’t so good.  For some time now, I’ve told myself I’d improve on that; that I’d start practicing again and become re-acquainted with the language I love so much – sadly, it hasn’t happened yet.

why-speak-frenchGiven the many reasons to learn French, I need to get off my arse and just do it! I need to stop talking about it and be about it. Rosetta Stone is a great way for me to dive back into the deep end to dust off my skills and do more than French kiss! Hehe 😉

A former co-worker has moved to Quebec, Canada where French is the primary language and he has to learn it, so I’ll take this as a sign that he and I can speak with each other in French in order for us both to benefit from it.  He is currently taking classes and I still have many of my study books, which will serve me while I wait to purchase  the Rosetta Stone software.

Oui, je parle Francais, mais ce n’est pas tres bon!

 

Yea, I said it!

 

2 thoughts on “Blog Challenge: Day 23 — Something you wish you had done in your life

  1. So you want to speak French into your love’s ear?

    I think you feel the way about French that I feel about Spanish. I took the course in high school and early college years and lived in Orlando (highly populated area for Latina) so I own a good grasp of the language. I would like to speak fluently though.

    • Nah! He has no interest in me speaking French.! lol!

      I can speak Spanish, but understand it more than I speak it. Oddly, I was never intrigued buy it the way I was completely enamoured with French. I should take time to start speaking it more as it would have served me well, but whatever. Haha!

      For the reasons you stated, I think you need Rosetta Stone too 😉 😉

Leave a Reply

