Blog Challenge: Day 18 — Your views on gay marriage

marry on

I have no qualms with gay marriage.  Love is love and when people love each other and want to be married, then I believe they should be married.  I participated in a gay wedding in 2010 and damn if that wasn’t the best wedding I’d ever been to and they’re still together.

gay cake topper_1gay cake topper_2

The wedding wasn’t awesome because they’re gay; since many people have that stereotype in their heads that all gay men are flamboyant and all that comes with that.  It was awesome because prior to being married, they’d already been together for 10 years.  Hell, their marriage alone outlasted mine of barely 3 years.

Everyone is entitled; in my opinion, to be afforded the same rights and treatment of those in heterosexual relationships.  I’d be half past pissed if I were gay and had been in a committed relationship for X amount of years only to be told I couldn’t or wasn’t entitled to certain benefits because we’re gay.

I know what people say the Bible says, but Love doesn’t have a preference or type; it’s an equal opportunity emotion that should be allowed to run its course with whomever it chooses.  Politicians are biased, bigoted, and hypocritical with their opinions and views where the gay community is concerned.  Let love be and let those in love be able to marry and live their lives.

 

Yea, I said it!

4 thoughts on “Blog Challenge: Day 18 — Your views on gay marriage

  1. Well said, Blu. I’m not sure if I’ve arrived at the point where I’d encourage homosexuality, but at the end of the day, I do believe in the saying, “To each its own.” I’ve noticed how the gay agenda is pushed in society – and has been for awhile now – so that along tells me that gay people are due the same rights and treatment as everyone else.

    Like you said, it’s political. It’s all political, if you ask me.

    • Love is love and love is blind. I rest on that. What I don’t like is how it all has to be a public announcement. I don’t need someone’s sexuality to be a lesson in “Show and Tell” unless the person I’m interested is gay.

Leave a Reply

