In the pursuit of self and happiness

A friend of mine is in the midst of mediation to end her marriage.  The reasons are her own and I’ve taken a stand far away from further commenting  or providing insight on the subject with her.  I’ve decided that she needs to go through the process in order to live, learn, and grow.  While removing myself from her situation, I recalled an old post and decided to reblog it.  It shows a necessary growth on my part and while I continue to succeed in my current relationship, I know I must continue to go through the various evolutionary process that comes with intimate relationships.  I continue to be in a good place in my life and while many of my past experiences may not have always been good ones, I’m still thankful to them for the lessons learned.

Some of the following quotes were also a part of my decision to reblog…

 

chapters
growthface it

Shades of Blu...

In the fall of 2005, I ended my relationship for the last time.  Well, that was the final last time as the relationship had been ended so many times before.  In all honesty, I think it was doomed to fail from the very beginning, but every excuse in the book became justifiable as I tried to rationalize it.  I thought this one might actually change me and my outlook on relationships and change things it did. 

For the three years it lasted post my divorce, I often wondered who I was, what I was doing, and most of all why I was doing it.  Sadly, at the time, I couldn’t give a valid answer if my life depended on it.  We were the most extreme polar opposites you could imagine and while they say opposites attract; and to some truth they do; the only thing we attracted was more and…

View original post 1,367 more words

2 thoughts on “In the pursuit of self and happiness

  1. This is such an amazing post and looking back on your other life stream, felt like I just finished reading an inspirational book on the art of learning self respect and self acceptance. A book I would undoubtedly recommend to others.

    Great insight and I loved the way you dissected different aspects of life.

    It’s unfortunate about your friend, but only they can sustain the process and find peace.

    • We each have to live, learn, and grow in our own way and in our own time. More importantly, we have to be HONESTLY introspective when we’re embarking on such opportunities for such growth. I was fortunate that when I finally embarked on my journey, I was willing to see the forest for the trees; sadly many aren’t and find themselves back in lifes ruts as a result.

      I hope for my friend and others going through a trial, that they’ll accept ownership for what they’ve allowed to happen in their lives and accept their role and responsibility when things have gone wrong. Yes, there are things that are beyond our control. but we do not need to hold on it it and carry it throughout our lives.

      It’s always my hope when sharing intimate aspects of my life that I’ll be able to help or touch someone else 🙂

Comments are closed.