Pass or Play?

As you know, I’m a huge music person and I’m rarely in favour of covers, remakes, or renditions.  In my opinion, there are few artists capable or recreating the original to such a degree that warrants interest from me; although I will say, there are startlingly a few artists that have done better than the original…Gasp! Anita Baker killed Tyrese’s Lately.

Well, it turns out that Marsha Ambrosius; formerly of the duo Floetry, decided to remake the Sade classic: Love is Stronger Than Pride.  In the world according to me, it takes a brave person to think they can take a Sade song and make it their own and I think Marsha considers herself brave.  I can’t say I dislike the remake, but I’m not sure how much I like it either. I think the subtle change in arrangements with a heavier emphasis on the percussion’s is nice, but it comes off a little too hip-hop for me.

The video is sexy and I enjoy the double entendre of being in black and white given Marsha is bi-racial and uses a white man in the video; however, her hip-hop body movements and girl-thug demeanor kind of conflicts with the sexiness of the bedroom scene.

Take a look/listen and give me your take…Pass or Play?

Stronger Than Pride

Yea, I said it!

2 thoughts on “Pass or Play?

  1. Nah, ain’t feeling it still. I like her but, nah the original just can’t be touched. The sampled hip hop beat is 100% classic DJ Premier, tuff

Leave a Reply

