When words fail, music remains…

After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music.
Aldous Huxley 

I can’t recall a time in my life where music wasn’t a part of it.  I grew up in a household where music was always playing.  My parents primarily listened to Reggae; however, they listened to almost all musical genres, which turned out to be a great learning experience for me.  I was fortunate to appreciate music not simply for its sound, but it’s lyrical content, which often moved me as much as if not more so than the music itself.  Music was, and remains one of my most favoured and sometimes preferred companion.

Music elicited the plethora of emotions I could or couldn’t say.  It opened my heart and mind to lifes experiences in all of their glowing hues and sometimes darkened shades.   There were occasions where I danced so much my legs entire body ached, which then caused me to emotionally ached in parallel capacity.  Music was and remains my most expressive emotion.

I recall a time in my life where music was the conversation I had with another when I simply couldn’t form my own words.  I would spend countless hours finding just the right collection of songs to compile into a CD to send him so he’d know how I was feeling.  It was the first and last time I’d ever do something like that for just as your first love remains within your heart, you can never replicate it; just like you can never replicate the emotions involved with investing that much of yourself into songs that it then comes your story.  

Music, much like love, is a connection.  It’s a bond formed where melodies become your heartbeat and lyrics; though not your own, become your voice.  It’s the part of you that wedges itself into another.  It’s the part of you that if you became mute, you’d use to tell your story.  Beats and rhymes; lyrics and verse; choruses and bridges are the timeline of your life…of your being.

Music is a universal language much like love.  So live your life in notes and love in the melodies it creates!

 

Yea, I said it!

8 thoughts on “When words fail, music remains…

  1. Lovely post and whilst some say a chocolate bar makes everything okay, I agree that music definitely beats the odds at calming the senses. And its amazing how the sounds of a tune, can significantly take one from a place of negative to a positive state within seconds.

  2. This is true, music is a universal language and regardless of what kind of music we listen to it’s speaking to many many people.

    My parents listened to R&B from the 60s and 70s as I was growing up. They loved Motown and they loved The Blues. It’s interesting to me now that much of the music that they listened to, I listen to. I don’t care for today’s music, I’d rather just listen to The O’Jays or Marvin Gaye or Teddy Pendergrass or Sam Cooke or Luther Vandross.

  3. I listened to what you did also and like you, I can’t say I particularly care for today’s music. It’s all too cookie cutter, lacks real content, or is trying too hard to stand out for no good reason. There are a few like Kem, Ledisi, Jill Scott (though I didn’t really care for her last CD), Leela James, Anthony Hamilton that actually do create good music.

  4. I agree. You know most, people think I remain in New Orleans because of the food but actually,it’s because of the music.

Leave a Reply

