What do you believe..?

I’ve been following this story Baby Slain in Stroller and I have conflicted views on how it’s playing out.

The mother of the slain baby identified the alleged shooter from a book of photos and then it was reported than an anonymous tip led to the arrest of alleged shooter. This information was online. I also heard a radio announcers account of the story, which is similar to that presented online; however, the radio report stated that the boys aunt provided an alibi for the time of the shooting.

Here’s my conflict…I want to believe the woman whose baby was shot and I want to believe the anonymous tip; however, an alibi was given for the alleged shooters whereabouts. To add even more conflict the my thoughts is that I know people lie on behalf of their loved ones even if they believe they’re guilty; it’s a sad fact of human nature.

Personally, I would in no way protect a family member who’d allegedly shot someone’s baby regardless of how old the alleged offender is; in this case a 17-year-old. I’m in no way suggesting or implying guilt, but I do believe there is a lot more to this story and a part of me truly does believe that family will cover its tracks quicker than a crab will bury itself in sand.

There has been no update to the crime as yet.

Live the life you love; love the life you live!

10 thoughts on “What do you believe..?

  1. Yeah it seems like there is way more to this story. And if someone shot a child, I dont think anyone should protect them.

  2. Yes, I’ve been following the story. I think there is much more to it. But who knows exactly what the truth is. The sad thing is that a baby was shot and killed. That is tragic.

  3. I was absolutely appalled by the story. I’m with you though, people lie so anything could have happened. I don’t always believe witnesses or the police….people lie. It’s because of times like this though that I am a staunch advocate for the death penalty. Sometimes people should die for the things they do. Anyone who has no problem looking into a toddler’s face and pulling the trigger is just one of those people. The more I know people, the more I like roaches.

    • Can’t find a reason to disagree with you Reggie. People lie…Period, but I truly do hope the truth comes out and the fact that someone shot a baby; there are no words for the onslaught of punishment that person should face PRIOR to getting the death penalty. I’m starting to like roaches too!

  4. BluJewel, I agree with you I to have been following the story, some parents and family members will lie to protect their child or children that is faced with a crime. No mother or father wants see their children in jail, but they will lie or cover up for them. I experienced my neighbor son had a wreck. The her child hit another man’s car, and left the scene and went home. In the end she covered it by sending the boy away so he would not face charges.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about some current events!

    • Thanks for your comment Yang! My own mother paid off the cost of forged checks my brother wrote years ago so he wouldn’t have to face charges, so I understand what parents do for their children. The forged checks was against a family member, which is foul in and of itself, which is why I think she did it, but it still doesn’t make it right.

      The mother of the slain baby deserves justice!

  5. Your beliefs are inadmissible and irrelevant in a court of law – the only place any of this matters. Agree though, If any of my family members shot someone, especially in this case of a baby, I’m dragging their punk ass to the police station. But these things are full of grey areas and there will be times one has to make a value call, it’s not always a clear cut decision. say If my brother hurt/killed someone during the a fight, and I know its a case where this person has been on his case and was the aggressor, would I snitch on him? I don’t want to see my brother in jail for some punk. still, gotta sleep on that one (and hope said brother doesn’t shoot anybody in the mean time)

    • I understand there are grey areas and our beliefs are for the most part irrelevant; however, the American judicial system is based on a jury of our peers, which makes our beliefs have bearing on such an case. I took my brother to the police and turned him in for outstandind warrants and I felt it was best he face his crimes and move on instead of always being on the run and/or looking over his shoulder. It sucked to do it, but it was the right thing to do. My conscious wouldn’t allow me to lie for someone in a criminal case. ESPECIALLY when it’s murder.

      Loved your anecdote! ;-?

Leave a Reply

