For the love of Webster’s…

There are many reasons why I’m rarely on Facebook, but one of the many reasons is people’s lack of spelling.  You’ve got folk posting all day like they’re getting paid for it, but can’t spell to save worth a dime.  What.is.up.with.that?

After watching Scandal last night, I did my nightly quick look because I like to see what people are saying about episode, I saw stalker spelt (English way) “stocker”.  I saw Scandal spelt, “Scandel”.  Those are the two that immediately come to mind, but trust me, misspelling runs rampant on Facebook, like a case of crabs in a dirty frat house! I mean really?!  Whenever  I see misspelled words, I cringe and then want to hide the post so I don’t have to look at it again and have my eyes bleed. 

I can forgive typos or even a minor grammatical error as they can and do happen, but when I see simple words or realize the word was written in the context of how the offending person pronounces it, I’m less forgiving.  At minimum, we’ve all got high school educations; most of which took place before the “No Child Left Behind” debacle was enacted.  Now, for those of us who have secondary or greater educations, I’m sorry, I’m even the less forgiving; correction, I’m not forgiving at all.  How the heck can one spend thousands or tens of thousands for their degrees and fall so short in their writing of the simplest things?

I understand and even respect vernacular and colloquialisms; I’m known to drop some Jamaican patois in a post, but for the love of Webster’s can people learn to spell words correctly and subsequently, even use them correctly?  Sheesh! *smdh*

I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way.  In fact, I know LadyLee will be nodding her head like a bobble head doll as she’s reading this.  Don will do some cosigning too. 

I know that Facebook is a casual interaction, but with so many people using it for many different reasons, folk should be mindful of the message they’re sending.  Technology while a good thing, is making many people dumber as they lose their ability to speak and write correctly.  I can’t begin to tell you how I cringe when I read emails that are oftentimes written in text-speak.  Really?  If I wanted that kind of interaction, I’d have text and not emailed.  I’ve spoken with high school teachers and college professors who’ve likewise complained about the younger generation’s inability to write and effectively communicate. 

I’m glad that I’m from a place where speaking well was not optional.  I’m glad I had parents who refused to allow me to overdo casual speech.  I’m happy that I chose the major I did where I was able to fully appreciate and use the English language well.  I’m proud of myself for knowing time and place in how I speak.  And mostly happy that I’m not of the generations just behind me because at least I know that I’m not just a pretty face.  I can actually string words together and form solid and meaningful sentences both oral and written.

I recall when I was in my twenties after having Lil Lady and a Headhunter told me that with my degree I’d never have a career because a Lang/Litt major would amount to much.  Boy was he ever wrong!  With my degree, I’ve been able to boost my career advantage and command salaries and positions where others couldn’t.  I’m deferred to for my technical writing and documentation production abilities, which has afforded me the opportunity to shine to upper and senior management.  So, thanks Mr. Head Hunter, I turned out just fine!

Off topic, I’m not 100%, but am feeling a little better.  I’d rather not be taking the Rx, but unless Bayou Creole is going to send me some roots medicine or I can get my hands on some good old ‘bush’ medicine, I have to do what I have to be well. 

Have a great weekend my lovelies!

 

Live the life you love; love the life you live!

 

7 thoughts on “For the love of Webster’s…

  1. ROTFLMAO! Girl, I don’t know nothing ’bout voodoo! LOL
    Although, you’d be amazed how many folks believe that I do (and that I speak French) because I’m from NOLA..
    I can’t lie, I do have one FB friend who drives me crazy with the grammar thing. I just shrug it off and keep moving.
    I don’t worry about spelling. I can barely put my finger on that damned lil keyboard on the phone myself!

    • Stereotypes and generalizations will run rampant based on the silliest r funniest things. Hahaha! I wasn’t implying YOU knew voodoo; just that in NOLA non-traditional medicine is still practiced. I’ve been sticking with the Rx and the cough and chest congestion is damn near gone. All praises due!

      I try to shrug it off, but when it’s so pervasive, I just get turned off. It’s a sad state of affairs in today’s society that we spend so much on education only to dumb ourselves down.

  2. Yes I am nodding along with you. Now, you know how ebonic I tend to get. And I usually write the way I talk on a casual basis. But it is readable, and not ratchet. But uh… they take it a bit too far on facebook. Especially the young folks. I had to tell my friend’s son the other day to PLEASE spell the words out. Please, even if it is casual.

    And the issue is that that is probably the way they write in english in real life. It feels like everything has been dumbed down. The fact still remains that you must have very good written and oral skills to get ahead.

    I know at my church, we have a 2 year bible program. I think people can come out with an associates in bible studies, or something like that. I was amazed that one of the ministers said that they have to go back and really work with people on their english and grammar skills because many never really learned those things, or didn’t take them seriously. And I think that is sad. And at the same time, I myself have taken it for granted that everyone has good grammar skills. Sigh.

    • I knew it! I knew you’d bobble head and most of all that you’d understand my point. As I said to BC, we spend so much money on education and turn around and dumb ourselves down. We’ve gotten too casual in both our speech and writing. You know it’s pretty sad when I you hear adults saying “lol” or “brb” and the like when they’re speaking…really?

      It is very sad indeed Dubble L and I hope that at some point, people stop and start to realize the impression they’re giving and leaving with their bad grammar and inability to write/spell properly

  3. First of all, I don’t have a Facebook account; and when I did I wasn’t a good Facebook friend because I just couldn’t commit to doing that on a regular basis.

    I must admit that there are times when I type quickly and I’ll leave typos or errors………or maybe when I rewrite something, but yeah….that irks me too. Especially those people who feel it necessary to type a book and it’s all jacked up.

Leave a Reply

