Accountability…

While having dinner with a dear friend yesterday, we spoke about being accountable for ourselves regardless of the situation or circumstance.  We spoke about how people often defer, find fault in others; place blame on others when they find themselves in the hot seat from something they’ve done.  I spoke about how a few people have stopped speaking to me and I have no idea why and was carrying around that conflict for some time.  I have; however, since let it all go.  I am woman enough to own anything I may have said or done and will seek forgiveness or atone for my alleged wrongdoing, but when put in situations where I’m left clueless, I can not and will not put someone else’s baggage in my luggage…Nuff said.  We continued to speak on the subject and I said that I’m fortunate to have friends in my life who keep it real and have no problem calling me on my shit if or when necessary.  It’s a shared mindset and serves us all well in our relationship.

So, today, I sit down to read my In Touch devotional and here is what is said…

A Partner for Accountability

An accountability partner is able to perceive what we can’t see when blind spots and weaknesses block our vision. Such a person serves as a tool in God’s hand to promote spiritual growth, and he or she watches out for our best interest. When choosing this type of confidant, look for these characteristics:
1. Godly. A person who walks in the Spirit will offer genuine wisdom based on biblical principles rather than personal opinion.
2. Trustworthy. No matter what you share with this individual, you must be certain that he or she will keep everything in the strictest confidence.
3. Accepting. He or she must allow you to be yourself–frailties and all–and not try to remake you into someone “perfect.”
4. Courageous. A good accountability partner will lovingly confront you with the truth, even when it hurts (Eph. 4:15).
5. Forgiving. When you make mistakes, trust is built through mutual forgiveness.
6. Edifying. Don’t choose someone with an overly critical attitude that will make you feel worthless. Love edifies and builds up (Eph. 4:29). It never destroys.
7. Encouraging. You don’t want someone with a checklist, who judges or acts like a prophet. Instead, choose someone who takes great joy in encouraging you.
We all can benefit from someone who is able to say what we need to hear without making us feel threatened. Answerability provides checks and balances that promote spiritual growth and protect us from pitfalls. If you don’t already have an accountability partner, pray for that person today.
I felt so good reading this as I know it’s confirmation of my being in the right place, with the right people, at the time in my life.  God’s word is always on point and certainly right on time.
That is all!

10 thoughts on “Accountability…

  1. I have one really great friend who is like this. We’ve known one another for about 30 years. She doesn’t live here anymore but, when we speak..it’s like heaven. She gives it to me straight and I do the same. It’s wonderful to have someone who doesn’t judge you but helps you find your way.

  2. I’ve always wanted to be that person who can tell the hard truth to encourage, but I’ve always been afraid of angering people. Which has caused me to be in the company of easily angered people. As I learn to be honest and tell the truth without fear, I draw people to me who are honest truthtellers, who will be open to encourage me with the hard truth when I need it. Growth is a beautiful thing.

    • Yes, it is Anna! It’s sad how as children we’re encouraged to tell the truth, yet as adults we do the complete opposite. The honest truth trumps the diluted version any and every day. I’m so happy you’re finding and getting what’s real and honest.

  3. I’ve always believed honesty is the best policy. Not all own the amount of tact that’s needed to reveal the truth at all cost, but God bless the ones who do. The world could use many many more of us.

Leave a Reply

