It’s the little things…

Ever feel like this?

Sometimes we get so caught up in life and the myriad of things we do in a day that we forget the little things.  We forget that a simple gesture of kindness and affection can go a long way. 

It’s not a newsflash or a revelation; simply a reminder that life is short.  In spite of the negative media, drama filled people, or whatever the bullshit du jour is, a random act of kindness of extension of affection can go a long way.

I currently live alone.  Lil Lady moved out in April and my boyfriend lives almost an hour away, so affection doesn’t come daily for me.  I’m at work all day, so the extension of affection is obviously limited.  Sometimes I see people who just have that ‘look’ that if they were given a hug, have their hand held, or a kiss on the cheek their day would be made.  Maybe a I see a reflection of myself and that’s why that ‘look’ is apparent to me.  Or it could simply be that I value those emotions; little things that can make or break a day.

I take time to notice the little things like a flower randomly growing where it seemingly shouldn’t.  I notice the look in a childs eye to determine if they’re truly happy or sad.  I look into the face of the harried man or women to determine how close the edge they are.  I extend kindness as much as I possibly can as it’s a human response that sadly isn’t often extended.  Spewing obscenities, rolling our eyes, or being ignorant seems to be the typical approach in society these days.  Well, I don’t want to be that person.  I want to be more; do more; say more.  We all need to work on that!

That is all!

14 thoughts on “It’s the little things…

  1. Yeah I had a moment like that the other day. I had to call someone and let her know just how much I love her.

    I truly believe that love makes you see things that you wouldn’t ordinarily see.

  2. Yes indeed, my sister. All is not given, and yet we shall all take joy in the smaller things that remind of us all of LOVE. Spread love, embrace love, enhance love…nourish love, every.single.day!

Leave a Reply

