I am me…

While recently blog surfing and spending a little time over at Yaz-Your entertainment pusha‘s spot, I came across this video by Willow Smith I Am Me
and it gave me room for pause in many ways…
1) how with her short hair cut she looks like a mini version of her father and had I not already known who she was, I’d have thought she was a boy
2) her level of confidence in herself and her appearance
3) that she’s rumoured to be a lesbian; yes, even at age 11
4) how powerful the lyrics are

I don’t know or care if she’s a lesbian or not or why she dresses the way she does, but what I can say is that I applaud her confidence, her self-assuredness and if she is a lesbian, then kudos for her to know and accept that about herself. I was always as self-assured as I am now and it took a long time for me to achieve the comfort levels I have with myself now and I take great pride and delight in feeling this way about myself now. In some ways, I envy that she’s had the level of support from her parents, those around, her and her own will/determination to express herself so fully and openly. She’s got something many adults lack.

Most notable to me are the lyrics. While I can’t say I’m a fan of her voice, the words themselves are mighty powerful…
[chorus]
I’m meee, I’m mee, and that’s all I can be
I’m meee, I’m eee, it’s my one ability
I’m free
And you can’t stop meee,
I’m free, and that’s all I can be

Days pass, I’m tryna find who I really am
I’ve been looking
People don’t like the way I dress
So it won’t matter, I’ve been looking
I’ve done my hair and it’s not just that easy
I’ve been looking
Your validation it’s not just that important to me

[Chorus]
I’m meee, I’m mee, and that’s all I can be
I’m meee, I’m eee, it’s my one ability
I’m free
And you can’t stop meee,
I’m free, I’m meee, and that’s all I can be

Night falls and I find it here I am in peace
I’ve been looking
Making friends with spirits lost
And it sets me free, I’ve been looking
Express myself cause it’s my liberty
I’ve been looking
Your validation it’s not just that important to me

[Chorus]
I’m meee, I’m mee, and that’s all I can be
I’m meee, I’m eee, it’s my one ability
I’m free
And you can’t stop meee,
I’m meee, I’m free, and that’s all I can be

I am me, I am me, I am me
I am free, I am free, I am free
I am me, I am me, I am me
I am free, I am free, X 2

Ooooooooooooohhhhhhh

Create yourself, redo yourself
Renew yourself
Be you, do what you do,
Hold your head up high, everything’s gonna alright
You’re you, I’m me, let’s livei n harmony
Coexist with each other, love each other
Be yourself
You have to be yourself, be real, be honest
Cause ain’t nobody got time for that
They really don’t, so listen to me
Listen to this song, because this is real facts
That will help you move along, yeah
That’s all I wanted to say, so I love you guys so much
Hope you like the song and you know, yolo, misfits, argh haha.

In a world where so many are living by the opinions and standards of others or are seeking validation in anyone except themselves, I think it’s rather refreshing to hear these words. Beautiful by Christina Aguilera comes to mind as another lyrically powerful song as opposed to the musical crap being played.

As I said, I don’t really care what Willow does with her life and my applaud for her stands and I’d like to extend it to those who have recently come out regarding their sexuality. Though I don’t care as their lives have no bearing on mine, I think it’s certainly noteworthy because it’s high time peole stop hiding who they are to please the masses. I understand it can be hard per industry standards and certain members of society, but at the end of the day, it’s important to be authentically yourself.

I am me with my good/bad, my rights/wrongs, highs/lows etc and I stand behind it all. I will not apologize or justify myself to anyone. If I’m not hurting others, why should anyone really care anyway? It’s 2012 and people need to invest more time in themselves than worry about what others are doing.

That is all!

6 thoughts on “I am me…

  1. this post brought to mind 2 things… the sign i have on my wall that says: “in a world where you can be anything; why not just be yourself?” & the words of the late, great whitney houston: learning to love yourself, is the greatest love of all.

    soooo, i think we’ve discussed this topic during one of our marathon conversations. i feel so… sad for those people who have not taken the time to find out exactly who they are & in turn learned to be comfortable & accepting of it… making NO EXCUSES & seeking NO VALIDATION because of it. it’s a totally exhilarating experience & i wish everyone was afforded the opportunity to feel/live/embrace it.

    okay, i’m outta here. hijacking of comments section: OFF

    LOL… love & light!!

    • I absolutely love that quote and I cosign it entirely. It truly is a shame that people can’t, won’t, and don’t embrace who they are and stop seeking confirmation, validation, or recognition from others. Living one’s authentic self shouldn’t be something to take lightly as this is our only go around and it should be done to the fullest.

      I always enjoy your comments as they inspire even more thought and are rather amusing. 😀

  2. I don’t know what Miss Willow will grow up to be, but I do hope whatever it is that she is happy. I think if more of us were, life would be oh so much sweeter.

  3. at the end of the day, it’s important to be authentically yourself.

    Wholeheartedly agreed. Being yourself is one of the talks my daughter and I constantly explore, as I insist and give examples and experiences of my own surrounding the importance of being oneself and, most importantly, understanding who she truly is.

    Being yourself offers a more sensible foundation, I’ve learned.

    • You are 100% right and kudos to you for talking to your daughter about this. Too many parents don’t reinforce their children’s authenticity; thus, leaving them with too many options of being led astray or lost in the sea of fakeness and drama from external sources.

      Being exposed to positive role models such as yourself, will give your daughter and other children an opportunity to see and understand how a secure source of self is the strongest foundation they can have. It will promote their self-worth, esteem, and respect.

Leave a Reply

