4 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday…

  1. One of my habits is to constantly read……..and I have for years and years. Earlier today during a mental health break at work (yeah I desperately needed that shit) I sat in my car reading and one of the characters stated “my father was honest to a fault and always told the truth whenever it mattered……..unless a woman was involved of course”.

    I guess a lot of men think like that. I’d like to say that I don’t but I’ve spent most of my adult life believing that to be so.

    I guess we lie to our women in an effort to save their feelings…..for the most part I’d say anyway. Earlier this year I wrote a post on honesty and in it I said that the only person in the world that I felt that I had to lie to was my wife. The purpose being to save her feelings. Well she read the post long after I published it and took exception to it. It bothered her so I took that post down………and a few others too.

    I’m going to make it a point now to always be honest, whether I think people want to hear it or not. Honestly is important. Our virtues are important……………we see that particularly when we don’t exercise those qualities as often as we should.

    Your post made me think…………….

    • Hey Reggie…Honesty is a hard concept for most to abide by, but it’s the best gift we can give to ourselves and others. Yes, it’s often hard to hear and sometimes hard to say, but when all is said and done, your integrity (honesty) is all you have. The old saying, “my word is my bond” was started for a reason because if we don’t have our word; we truly have nothing. I’d rather someone be offended by a truth than me be branded a liar; the latter is harder to come back from.

      I’m happy this post made you think and that it has inspired you to be and do better

    • Amen to that! As I said to Reggie, it’s not always easy; especially when considering other people, but it’s so important to establish and live by the truths. You acknowledged it, so you’re already empowered.

Comments are closed.