The Wounded Healer

Lately I seem to be in the right place at the right time to receive or share information.  Earlier this week, there was a Black History Month presentation at the job, which I attended.  I was standing in the back of the auditorium and I noticed the woman seated next to me had a book on her lap and I asked if I could see it; of which she obliged.

After reading the back, I realized that I am a Wounded Healer and have been for some time.  I’ve used the adversity I experienced in life to encourage, heal, inspire, and mentor others.  I’ve known for some time that this has been a special calling of mine and after coming to that place of rest with it all, I know now more than ever; it’s time to use it more and more. 

Post reading the back of the book, we engaged in conversation and I’ve been invited to speak at her women’s ministry where she feels I will be of great service to the women there.  This is now the second time in as many months where I’ve been asked to speak about my experiences in order to help and encourage others.  Timing is everything!

Each of us can be a Wounded Healer.  We’ve all been through something or done something that can be used as a healing and/or teaching tool for someone else.  We must use the trial that became our testimony to show others that they too can and will be okay; and that they’re more than the sum of their negative experience.  It’s not about touching one or touching many; it’s about using a negative to make a positive.  Sharing truly is caring and the blessing imparted can and usually is monumental. 

Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.  Galatians’ (NIV)

The gifts we can give aren’t always monetary and doing God’s will doesn’t always have to be in the church.  As long as we know we’re doing something for the right reasons and for the greater good; that’s what carries weight, worth, and impact.  

That is all!
Link to the book The Wounded Healer

 

Leave a Reply

