Holding on; holding strong

Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.  Isaiah 41:10 (NIV)

 Lamentations 3:21-26

21. But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope. 22. The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases, his mercies never come to an end; 23 they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. 24 .”The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” 25. The LORD is good to those who wait for him, to the soul that seeks him.  26. It is good that one should wait quietly for the salvation of the LORD. 

This week; in fact the past couple weeks have been filled with an anxiousness bordering on discomfort as I forge on through the journey of reclaiming and rebuilding my life from the crazy it went through for almost two years.  Facing each day with a new sense of hope is sometimes all I have to hold on when it still seems like I’m not really advancing, but when I read The Word; especially scriptures such as these; I’m then reminded that it will be okay and I’m going to come through the trial to claim my triumph and receive the victory that’s mine to have. 

I used to smile to keep from crying, but realized I’m only delaying and compounding the actual pain if I don’t address it, deal with it, and then move on, which is not always easy because sometimes I don’t know when that emotional moment is going to hit.  But I take solace in knowing that if these moments happen at work, I’m fortunate to have my best sister/friend, a co-worker who has proven himself to be a valuable confidante, and my pastor, who also happens to be a dear friend right there in the building to give me the compassion, comfort, and strength I need to make it through.  In addition, God has blessed me with a daughter and (maybe) future son-in-law in whom; despite their youth, give me encouraging and comforting words to hear in addition to their love and companionship. 

The trials of life won’t be forever, but instead will turn into a testimony I can share and encourage another with.  Readers, whatever you’re going through and wherever you are, know and trust there is someone out there who can and will lend and ear or a shoulder.  Do not think you have to go it alone; how I have tended to be; and you can and will be victorious.  And if there is no one around when you need them, just start talking to the Lord as He already knows what’s on your heart; He just wants to hear it in your voice.  

I’ll duly note that not everyone who reads or may read my blog is a Christian, but I do hope they do have a faith/spiritual path they follow; and if nothing else, I hope that the sharing of what I go through good or bad will help, encourage, or inspire another.

That is all!

3 thoughts on “Holding on; holding strong

  1. Thanks for sharing this. One verse that I always find myself clinging to is in Romans 8:18: The sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared to the future glory which will be revealed through Christ Jesus.

    • Amen to that Chele. When times are hard/rough, it’s easy to focus so much on that instead of the glory that awaits us. I’ve been centering myself on on this being temporary and trust that what awaits me is going to be amazing/wonderful. I will add Romans to my list

Leave a Reply

