The Plans…

“I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” — Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

This is one of my favourite scriptures as it always reminds me that in spite of myself and/or what I’m going through there is still a Plan B if Plan A fall apart.  Since we’re human and it sometimes takes us a few times to get it right, God ensured that He said “plans” and not “plan”, we could and would have many chances to get it together.  It also shows that He will not easily tire of us.  

On Monday, I unexpectantly ran into a young lady whom I’d actually voted for when I was a judge for a pageant and we engaged in a wonderful conversation where she asked if I would be a speaker at a workshop she’s putting together.  I was humbled that she asked as mentoring and speaking to young women has been something I’ve wanted to do; now I have the opportunity.  I immediately thanked God as I see now the timing was all a part of His plan and it truly did renew my hope for the future.  

I heard the song that supports this scripture just yesterday and I immediately felt renewed, encouraged, and inspired.  After the past two years I’ve had, I know I need this scripture now more than ever and I truly trust and believe in His word to keep me going.  We make plans for our lives and when they fall apart, we’re often left wondering what to do next or what will happen next, but God always finds and makes a way.  Our ways are not His ways and sometimes we think we have it all taken care of and it’s not until things get out of sync that we realized, we don’t know it all.  I’m sure you’ve heard the adage, “If you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans”, well, some of our choices/decisions, the scripture, song punctuate that we aren’t really in control.  

When things go south and we think we can’t go on, I recommend reading this scripture for some uplifting and also give this song a listen; nothing like a little spirit boosting to get back the hope you need to go on. The lyrics are as follows:

I Know The Plans – Martha Munizzi

I know the plans I have for you
I know just what you’re going through
So when you can’t see
what tomorrow holds
And yesterday is through,
Remember I know,
the plans I have for you (repeat)

To give you hope for tomorrow
Joy for your sorrow
Strength for everything you go through
Remember I know the plans I have for you

I know the plans I have for you
I know just what you’re going through
So when you can’t see
what tomorrow holds
And yesterday is through,
Remember I know,
the plans I have for you
(Repeat verses 1 & 2)

 That is all!

8 thoughts on “The Plans…

  1. Blue!!!! I immediately came here. Its so good to know you’re here. I know I have been missing but it seemed EVERYONE left. I needed to read this today thank you. I
    have added you to my roll and you know I’ll be back. Take care and be blessed!

    • Wendy: life took some crazy turns for me and I was out of it for quite a while. I tries to start over, but the timing always seemed off, so I waited until I knew for sure I was ready. I already added you to my roster this morning and will catch up on the other posts I didn’t have time to read. It’s get to be in sync with the blog fam again. {hugs}

  2. I love this message this post so much. It’s like what i needed to hear. But after i got a text from my brother who expressed he was lonely and depressed i felt the need to send it to him. God works in mysterious ways, but when we are all called together, it is his works and his works alone. Thank you!

    • My pleasure! I’m always warmed when something I post hits the right person at the right time. Yes, God truly does work in mysterious ways and His ways are so wonderful.

  3. It is always so comforting to me to know that God, the Creator of all things, has plans for little ole me! It’s humbling and overwhelming at times. Great post, sis!

Leave a Reply

